Southeastern Narrow Gauge & Shortline Museum
Who We Are  

    The Southeastern Narrow Gauge & Shortline Museum is spear-headed by the Newton Depot Authority, a 501(c)3 non-profit. The Newton Depot Authority was established in 1995 and is an independent government entity backed by the city of Newton, NC.  The Depot Authority is controlled by a board of directors appointed to two-year terms by the Newton city council.

    The Depot Authority is aided by its collaboration and alliance with the Alexander Chapter of the National Railway Historical Society. The Alexander Chapter-NRHS was established in 1979 and is the oldest organization in western North Carolina dedicated to the preservation of railroad history. Like the Depot Authority, the chapter is also a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation.  The Alexander Chapter is a membership club which is open to the public. Its directors are elected by popular ballot vote annually.
Golden Spike Fundraising Campaign
     Financial information about this organization and a copy of its license are available from the State Solicitation Licensing Branch at 919 807 2214.  The license is not an endorsement by the State.
Board of Directors

D. Joe Long                                        Chairman
Thomas W. Warlick                           Vice-Chairman
Jerome  W. Bolick                              Treasurer
Fred  Lee Sherrill, Jr.                         Secretary
James S. Abernethy                            Director
Jody Dixon`                                        Director
Sidney Halma                                     Director
H. Tom Rowe                                     Director
Janet V. Bixby                                    Director
Joe Beaman                                        Director
Matthew C. Bumgarner                      Director