East Tennessee & Western North Carolina Railroad 
    Along the ET&WNC Volume II: The Ten Wheelers
         

     In ET&WNC parlance, the term "Ten Wheelers" is most often applied to engines 10, 11, 12, & 14, primarily because they were built to the same Baldwin Locomotive Works' erector drawings. Though Numbers 8 and 9 were technically "Ten Wheelers," or rather , of the 4-6-0 wheel arrangement, they were smaller than what the old-timers referred to as "the big engines."

     Numbers 10 through 14 were unique in their design, and were possessed by no other railroad in the world. The entire class of locomotives survived as late as 1943, and were the engines most responsible for giving the railroad its enduring character and appeal. To this day, Number 12 still survives and proudly serves her enduring legacy at the famed Tweetsie Railroad, North Carolina's oldest theme park and one of America's greatest treasures.

Number 10 (left) is parked outside of the Johnson City engine house in late 1941 or early '42. The engine sparkles with fresh green paint, aluminum trim, and gold lettering and striping all over the place. No. 10 was purchased by the War Department in May 1942, for service on the White Pass & Yukon Railroad in Alaska. There it was damaged in a roundhouse fire on December 25, 1943, and scrapped in 1945. Jim Dowdy Collection, via Mike Dowdy.

Locomotive Number 11 (right) was one of the workhorse engines of the ET&WNC. Built in 1916 by Baldwin, this engine served faithfully for 35 years. It is shown here at Johnson City, TN, on August 7, 1942, fresh out of the paint shop. So fresh in fact, that the outside contractor has not yet applied the striping on the cab, the only striping to remain during the World War II years. Philip Laws Collection.

In late 1938, Number 12 (left) replaced Number 7 as the switcher engine for a time, after that engine was retired. The trademark cowcatcher was removed and replaced with a switching pilot. Number 12 was the only ET&WNC narrow gauge locomotive to be saved from scrapping after that section closed in 1950. It continues to haul people today at the Tweetsie Railroad, in Blowing Rock, NC. Jim Dowdy Collection, via Mike Dowdy.

    Number 14 is parked in front of the Johnson City engine house in 1941. An oval of letters spelling ET&WNC RAILROAD was added to the Clarence Hobbs paint  scheme in 1938, creating a distinctive look. No. 14 was also sold to the War Department for use in Alaska during World War II. Unfortunately, it was destroyed in the same fire that consumed No. 10 in 1943, and was scrapped in 1945. Jim Dowdy Collection, via Mike Dowdy.

ORDER NOW

MORE ET

BACK